300: The Uncalm Before the Storm

8 03 2007

300 opens nation-wide tomorrow and I don’t think there is a male between the ages of 13 and 30 on the planet earth that doesn’t know this. If you don’t know what 300 is, kill yourself. But before you do, read this post, see 300, then commence with your suicide.

300!

Being on a college campus, maybe the hype for this movie is being accentuated. Testosterone is at peak levels around here. I don’t know. What I do know is that almost every person with a penis that I am acquainted with cannot wait for this movie. Some of my friends have even bought tickets for an iMax showing in Baltimore, which is about an hour drive from here. I have already pre-ordered my own ticket along with 4 other tickets for a few of my friends. Just to give you an idea of how many people are eagerly awaiting the brutal, savage, graphic violence that is 300, yesterday I had to partake in a research study for the Communications department. I was placed in a room with someone who I had never met before. His name was Court, he was a sophomore who lived on the opposite side of campus. We were instructed to have a conversation about anything (I think the purpose of the study was to see how two strangers interact). Anyway, we started talking about video games, which then led to God of War II, which then reminded me of 300. I asked him if he was going to see it: “Oh fuck man, 300! That movie looks fucking awesome! I’m gonna kill someone after I see that movie!” I responded: “I know right? Watching those trailers makes me want to go on a rampage with an axe or something.” The conversation was being recorded and video taped. I can’t imagine the concerned look on the graduate student’s face who will be evaluating our conversation.

Obviously, this movie appeals to the repressed, violent, rage in every male in our solar system. 300 will not only be an amazing celebration of cinema, it will also unleash every male’s innate instinct to thrust a spear through the chest of the poor asshole next to him.

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 03 2007
CajoleJuice

Haha that story is awesome.

And it’s “accentuated”

8 03 2007
It’s Almost Here: 300 « The Somewhat Manly Nerd

[…] There’s not much more time left. In about 24 hours, I will experience greatness. Feel free to add your own hype quotes, and if you can’t get enough 300 talk, check out Chris’s post on it. […]

21 02 2009
It’s Almost Here: 300 | The Somewhat Manly Nerd

[…] There’s not much more time left. In about 24 hours, I will experience greatness. Feel free to add your own hype quotes, and if you can’t get enough 300 talk, check out Chris’s post on it. […]

Leave a Reply

