Blizzard Has Let Me Down

12 02 2007

The first computer games I ever began playing were the Command and Conquer: Red Alert series by Westwood. I was about 10 when I bought that game and I can remember being in love with it. Until one day I went over to my friend Joel’s house. He introduced me to Starcraft and I was immediately hooked. The graphics were amazing, the story line was great, and the gameplay was better than any Command and Conquer I had ever played.

After Starcraft became a little old for me, I heard about the soon to be released Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos, a few years later. Once again, Blizzard had released another amazing strategy game. This time, it didn’t have anything to do with space or multiple races of aliens, but a different fantasy world that consisted of orcs, elves, humans, and the undead. I stuck with Warcraft III for a few years before once again, outdated graphics and the same maps and strategies began to bore me. Don’t get me wrong though, Reign of Chaos and the Frozen Throne were great games with amazing replay-ability, but after a while, you just get tired of the same setting.

When I heard the news that Blizzard was going to develop an MMORPG I was confused. They had no experience in that genre and I really thought they should just stick to strategy games. But, I knew that whatever Blizzard was going to make, it would be a great game regardless, MMORPG just isn’t my thing.

It’s been about two years now since World of Warcraft was released, and about five years since Warcraft III was released and still there are no confirmed reports of a Starcraft 2, or a Warcraft IV. There have been multiple interviews with Blizzard employees that hint at the possibility of a sequel or two, but nothing legitimate has surfaced.

I did however find this video. I’m not sure about its authenticity but it does show some 3D effects in the game. To me though, it just looks like an edited version of some Starcraft: Brood War replays.


Click here if the video isn’t showing.

I’m not sure how authentic that video is, but, it does seem like it could be real.

I understand that Blizzard is a business, and their purpose is to make a profit, but I just wish they hadn’t strayed from their loyal fan base and made a game to appease the cries of every nerd on the planet. Actually, it doesn’t bother me that they made WoW, it just pisses me off that it’s all they fucking care about now.

When you see a display of these,

WoW hat

next to the game, strategy guides, action figures, and t-shirts in Best Buy, you know something is wrong.

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 02 2007
CajoleJuice

I can’t believe they were selling those hats at Best Buy. WoW is like the fucking plague.

That video was pretty damn cool (it looked like a WCIII mod to me) and just makes me more pissed off that there hasn’t been a Starcraft 2 announcement. Blizzard is just getting rich off of the cash cow that is WoW. Fuck MMORPGs.

12 02 2007
h0pper

yeah, that’s exactly what is happening. I understand that they are making alot of money from WoW, but I also believe they care about their fan base and want to keep everyone happy. this isnt working.

Leave a Reply

